Posted in Book Club, Book Reviews

Book Review: Skulduggery Pleasant Last Stand of Dead Men- Derek Landy

250px-Last_Stand_of_Dead_Men_Cover

*****

This book broke my heart more than once (At least three times) and I never saw it coming. War has broken out amongst Sanctuaries and nobody really seems to be siding with Skulduggery and the remains of the Dead Men. Darkness and Death are the names of the game in this book and at times it is painful to read. Characters from the core cast die in this book and we have to move on so quickly as to hardly take notice of it, because this is war, and if we stop to grieve then the enemy will shake us down. It’s brutal and cruel and it made me stop to think about how many of the original characters are actually left fighting the good fight.

I shan’t tell you who is left, but I can tell you that their numbers have significantly dwindled. It also made me re-evaluate the importance of certain characters. The reflection for example. We’ve seen this coming for a while now, but ‘Stephanie’ is wholly independent now and it just made me realise that the reflection actually has been there from the start. We may never have considered it as a real character at the time, but now her character has come to fruition. I almost hate that I’ve read it because now I have to wait until September to find out what happens next. Oh Derek Landy, you are a crafty man, how did you know that? How did you know that I would give in and read it before the last book came out? It’s infuriating!

But nonetheless, five stars is the only rating appropriate for this book, and I’m very much looking forward to the last book coming out. (Translation: if this year doesn’t fly by quickly then I’m going to find Derek and trap him in a house with a typewriter- Misery style.)

*Parents: stick to the age guidelines*

Read my review of book one, book two, book three, book four, book five, book six and book seven.

Have a lovely day,

Alys.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Skulduggery Pleasant Last Stand of Dead Men- Derek Landy

What do you think?