Posted in Assorted Beverages With Alys

Tea in a Pumpkin Mug With Alys

moving house, emma bridgewater, succulents, mug, pumpkin, halloween

These past two weeks have been very busy.

I have moved house, finally! I moved into a studio flat in student accommodation and it’s actually really lovely. I have my own little kitchen and my own little bathroom and it’s really nice to have this space to myself without having to share it in the slightest. It is nice to have my own self-contained little place that I can make my own for the next year. Ashleigh is just across the road and on my second night here I popped over for a brew, which was nice because I didn’t have a kettle until my third day. As I write this, my boxes are strewn around me after a visit from my parents and all I did was stop to get my kettle and my mugs unpacked. I have a lovely cup of tea.

I’m not looking forward to going back to uni and lectures over much, but I suppose that’s what I’m here for and I only have one year left. I’ve already started on all of my reading and making notes on some of the books, I started over the summer so that I could get at least a little bit of a head start. Being on a dual honours English course makes for a lot of reading each week, so I’m glad that I did that for future me. I’m sure that she’ll be grateful. I know her pretty well, and I think she’ll be pretty grateful at any rate. (If you want to know what books I’ve been reading this month and what I thought about them, come back on Friday for the monthly book chat)

I’ve been watching Salem lately. I don’t think it’s particularly good, but it’s nice to be able to watch something that you don’t necessarily have to think about too hard. It’s nice to just relax with a cup of tea and watch witches murder people. It’s pretty fun. I also watched all of American Horror Story Roanoke in about a day when it finally arrived on Netflix. I know that it got some rather mixed reviews, but I actually liked a lot of the things that other people didn’t. I quite liked that it was in two parts, and I thought it was amusing that it was poking fun at those ridiculous ghost hunting shows. I like how American Horror Story places an onus on trying to do things in a different way, in more interesting ways. I do think that sometimes they try to do too much in a single season. In Asylum, for example, there wasn’t quite enough of the aliens. Perhaps they will release a season at some point in the future that is solely concerned with alien abductions. Here’s hoping! (also more Denis O’Hare!)

Autumn is coming! Well, actually, it’s already here. The leaves are beginning to turn and there has definitely been a cooling in the atmosphere.  I love autumn. Because it’s pretty, and it’s not so hot after the summer, and there is usually an influx of new and pretty stationery in the shops. Which of course I’m interested in, because I’m a notebook hoarder. Although university has taught me to use the damn things, at a slightly faster rate than I buy them…

I have been listening to my Halloween playlist this week, getting in the mood for the best time of the year. I might have my friends over to my flat for Halloween this year, I think mine is the only one that will have enough chairs for everyone, although it may be better to have it at Ash’s as she has a living room and nice flatmates. I guess we’ll sort it out at the end of next month… haha! I’m getting excited too early again.

I’ll possibly have more to say next month as this month was a lot of waiting around for university to start again. But yeah, I’ll see you in a month. There should be a book chat up on Friday, so make sure to check that out and let me know what you’ve been reading this month!

Have a lovely October!

Alys.

 

What do you think?