Posted in Assorted Beverages With Alys

Peppermint Tea with Alys. (Voting and Reading)

No automatic alt text available.

So I’m still a student. I got the email the other day saying that I’m able to re-sit my third year so I’m just taking some time to let that piece of information settle in and find its place in my brain. i bought some books to celebrate. Cheap ones from The Book Depository, but good ones nonetheless. Or at least I hope that they will be good! I have high hopes. The first one arrived today and it’s a sort of sequel to the one I’m reading right now, so it’ll be good to be able to start reading it as soon as I finish what I’m reading. Which is what I have been doing this entire week. I have been reading Homo Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari and The View From The Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman. Both are non-fiction and I’m enjoying them immensely. The first is a history of humankind; a biological, anthropological, sociological view of humans throughout the life of our species. The second is a collection of speeches and essays that Neil Gaiman has written on a variety of subjects, mainly pertaining to fictions that he and other people have written. I have really enjoyed reading them alongside each other because the Gaiman book illustrates rather nicely a lot of the ideas in the Harari book. Harari discusses the ‘Thing’ that separates humans from other animals, and concludes that it is our capability to imagine.

To create fictions is inherently human (on this planet). It has been argued that language is the answer to what separates us from other animals, but scientists have proved that other animals use language. It has been theorised that it could be currency, but aside from the fact that other animals trade items, money is something that emerged from our root ability to imagine. I can’t explain it as well as in the book, so it’s something that I recommend you all to read. Fiction and imagining things extends from telling stories around the fire, to the imagining of big corporations as entities separate from the people that work for them. It’s a big business, this imagining thing.

That’s all I’ve done this week. It’s all I do every week! I just read! I re-potted a plant today, if that’s interesting to you. I started to really get moving with packing to move back home at the end of the month. I sewed a patch on my blanket. I’ve been feeling a little more creative these last few days actually, I might start getting back into my sewing again. I have a bag next to my bed with lots of projects sitting in it that I never finished. Next week is going to be much busier because I’m going to need to see to some financial stuff and housing stuff for next year, so there might be something more interesting to write about!

OH!

I forgot. The only IMPORTANT thing that I did this week.

I voted. Because I’m not an idiot.

I won’t tell you who I voted for, because I don’t think that it’s important (it is, but it’s not important to tell people) It’s just important that we vote. I don’t mean to bang on about it, but people died for me to have the right to vote, and I’m damn well going to exercise that right. i consider it investing in my future. Even if it doesn’t go the way that I would want every time we have an election/referendum I know that I did as much as I could to make my voice heard. It’s important.

I’m off now, I have some reading to do before Monday, because that’s when I have to get all my adult things done!

 

Have a lovely week!

Alys

What do you think?

