Posted in Assorted Beverages With Alys

Liquorice Twist Tea with Alys

No automatic alt text available.

This week my mother came to visit, so I did a lot, but there’s not really that much for me to write about. She came up on Tuesday and we went to get her ear re-pierced (Actually it only needed the plug pushing out) by my favourite piercer Serena. She runs Ozone if you’re in my town, I definitely recommend as she’s super friendly and lovely. And there’s a loyalty card, so if you’re planning a project, it’s nice and cheap. Anyway, we did that, and then on Wednesday travelled to Chester to go to Cheshire Oaks. I know, I’ve only just been, but that was with Alex’s family. And when I spoke to my mum on the phone about it she said she’d like to go, so that’s what we did. It was a stressful trip, but good. We got all of the things that we went for, and a few that we didn’t. And we got to look at lots of expensive things and admire them from the other side of the financial divide…

On the plus side, we got some nice chocolate from Hotel Chocolat, and some nice tea from Whittards, and I got a nice candle from Yankee Candle. Although, actually, that candle is amazing. And so worth losing it in the doc martens shop and going on a mission to find it just before we went for the bus. (It’s the Cappuccino Truffle scent, if you’re wondering. And now I need ten more in the same scent so that my room can never not smell like this again…)

One thing I realised this week was that my feet are aggressively average in size. I looked at many many pairs of shoes in the Doc Martens shop and in the Vans shop, and yet there was nothing in my size, I suppose there are some downsides to outlets, there just isn’t as much choice.

But, with great activity, comes great pain. After my mum left I got an horrendous migraine that I tried to ignore for a while, but nope. It went from a bad headache into a full blown migraine and I had to take a strong painkiller and about twenty minutes later, I threw up. So that was nice. I forgot to mention that to my counsellor when I saw her today, but I completely forgot about it until I got home and sat down with my notes. Anyway, migraines are shit, we all know this. Blah blah blah. moving on to the books…

I started reading ‘Burning your Boats’ by Angela Carter again, but as that’s short stories, I only read one or two before my mum came with the book that I’ve been dying to get to all year. ‘Goldenhand’ by Garth Nix is the latest instalment in the Old Kingdom series, and I got it for Christmas. Unfortunately, I left it at my parents house when I came back after Christmas, and I haven’t been able to get my hands on it until now. I’m so excited. I love those books. I LOVE those books. They have been my favourite since I was ten and my brother handed me ‘Sabriel.’ I have read them every year since, adding to the chain each time a new book comes out. That means I’ve read ‘Sabriel’ at least twelve times, which of course is an underestimation because there was many a time when I finished reading it, turned it over and read it again. So yeah, some good books in my very near future.

She also brought me ‘The Name of the Wind’ and ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’ by Patrick Rothfuss. I haven’t read them for a while, and I’ve been craving them. I know that sounds silly, but there are books that I crave from time to time. Garth Nix and Patrick Rothfuss are definitely two of the authors that I crave their writing at least once a year. Unfortunately, both of those authors require a lot of time to read every year, so I push away the cravings a lot of the time and then they build up and I can’t deny them. Nor do I have any interest in denying them. They’re good writing. They’re amazing writing.

I’ve been watching iZombie again, I think I heard something about a new season coming out soon, but either way, I just love that show and fancied watching it again. I watched an entire season in one day yesterday. I just needed to sit and relax and not think too hard about anything after I’d had a guest, and before I had counselling. Which went well by the way. I’m not going to talk about the details at all on here, and I won’t talk about it too much at all. But I don’t think that I should ignore it completely. Mental illness already has such a stigma attached to it that harms people so much, I don’t want to talk about my personal stuff, but I also think it’s important to break down that stigma and normalise a dialogue about mental health issues. Yes, I see a counsellor. I also read a lot and have things to say about that, I buy candles and have average sized feet. I’m not just mental illness, and that’s important to show, because there are people out there that might need help, but deny themselves that help as they don’t think they’re bad enough. That’s not good. That’s how people get worse.

Anyway, I hope you all have a good week,

Alys.

What do you think?

