Posted in Assorted Beverages With Alys

Lots of Tea with Alys.

This week I have been trying to make sure that I get enough water, so of course that means lots of tea. Autumn has hit fully and my skin has dried up like a raisin in the sun. Hence the water/tea. I had a bit of a rubbish end to the week last week, and a bit of a rubbish start to the week this week, and so really it could only have gotten better. Which it did.

On Monday I slept all day, yup. I need to make a dr’s appointment to have my iron levels checked. I say that every month. On Tuesday I pretty much just read and went to work. (I bought bananas too) Wednesday was for reading and writing, and knitting. I’ve recently picked up by knitting again. It’s been a while since I started knitting this purple jumper, but I had the front knitted already, and now I’m making the back piece of it. I would like to have it finished for Christmas, but it probably won’t happen. That’s fine, it’s for me anyway, not a gift for anyone else. It’s going to be so comfy when it’s finally finished. So that’s what I’ve been doing really. Knitting and reading has been pretty much it this week. Except for the fact that I went to see a friend on Sunday, and spent some time at her house, which was lovely. Aside from seeing a lovely friend that I haven’t seen for a little while, she also has an adorable little girl and a very very cute cat. I said earlier that I went to work on Tuesday, which I’m not sure really counts as work because it’s babysitting said adorable little girl, and I enjoy that immensely. Can you call it work when you get to read stories and play with play-doh for a couple of hours in the evening? I don’t think you can. Also, cat. Cat. I mean, do I really need to say anymore than that? Cat. I got a bit excited for a hot minute there though. I went on pinterest and got really excited with pinning ALL of the kids crafts for Autumn, Hallowe’en and Christmas. So, yeah. I’m making those. With or without that adorable small child.

Something else that happened this week was something pretty awesome. I had spoken to my mum on the phone and, as you do, I had a little complain about how poop things had been a few weeks ago. And then on Wednesday this week I got some post. At first I thought that it would be some books for uni, so I was already excited for that. But then I opened it up and inside there was the most lovely little gift I think I’ve ever been surprised by. My lovely mum had sent me a Buddy Box. A Buddy Box, for those who may not know, is something that the Blurt Foundation does. Firstly, The Blurt Foundation is a foundation that was set up to help people with depression, and to raise awareness of the difficulties that people face. And to help people to help themselves through self-care and mindfulness.

Blurt exists to make a difference to anyone affected by depression. Being diagnosed can be overwhelming – there’s a lot to learn and plenty of prejudice to battle. Telling people is tough, and not everyone will understand. That’s why we’re here for you, whenever you need us, for anything at all.

We’ll help you understand depression and what it means for you. We’ll support you, listen to you and introduce you to people who’ve been where you are. We’ll help you break down barriers and broach the subject with those closest to you. We’ll help you help yourself, with a little knowing nod.

Mine was the October box, and it was absolutely wonderful. It’s my favourite time of year, so it was definitely perfect timing. It has a few little warming things in there to make you feel all lovely of an autumn evening when the nights are dark and the rain is pouring down the windows. Each box is different and I’m not sure if you know what is inside them when you buy them, as I didn’t buy mine for myself, but each box is guaranteed to have gender neutral items inside that will put a smile on your face, even if you wouldn’t necessarily buy them for yourself. October’s box had a little postcard with a quote from ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’, a little zine, a pair of bamboo socks, a hot chocolate stick with marshmallows (if you’re veggie or vegan, check the ingredients), a set of post it notes that you are supposed to write self-care goals for the day on, a little book of mindfulness, and last but definitely not least, an iron on patch. It is SUPER SUPER cute.

So that was my week.

Much thanks go to my mum, my friend Kendra (and her little girl, and her cat), Alex’s curry and Autumn leaves.

Have a lovely week,

Alys.

 

What do you think?

