Posted in Assorted Beverages With Alys

Coffee with Alys. (How did it get to 2am?)

Coffee makes my head spin. I don’t drink it very often, but when I do it’s because I’m tired and need to stay awake- even if not particularly alert. I find that I have a little bit of a reaction to it. I’m not sure if it’s an allergy, or some level of intolerance, and I don’t drink coffee often enough for it to really be an issue, but it seems like every time I drink it I get quite warm (read: rather sweaty), my heart pounds way more than it should, and I get irritable because I can’t concentrate. Usually if I have drunk coffee it is because I need to stay awake long enough to finish something that I am doing, but that’s a bit of a catch 22 because when I drink coffee I can’t get my mind to settle and to focus on one thing for the time it takes to get that thing resolved. Maybe that’s just caffeine. Maybe everyone has that reaction, and I only think it’s out of the ordinary because I don’t often drink it. I’m not sure. But one thing that I am sure of is that it doesn’t actually make you any less tired. If you’re already tired it just maintains that level for longer. (That’s actually scientifically proven, but it’s all to do with neurotransmitters and I can’t quite remember all the science) So basically that just means that if you drink coffee so that you can stay awake longer to get that thing done, you’re just going to be as tired as you were before, but for longer, and most likely unable to sleep once you’ve finished that thing. It’s annoying.

As it happens, I didn’t sleep much last night. Not even because of the coffee either. There was a noise in my room all night and I couldn’t find it to stop it. It was very annoying, so now I’m sitting here on an extremely HOT day feeling a bit crappy. On the plus side, I have painted my nails. So there’s always that. Well, only the nails on one hand…

I might go and sit in the garden in a bit. Or have a little gander to the park across the road. That might help with the crappy feeling. I’m really not sure what to write about today, because there’s nothing really to say. I feel like crap. I’m super tired. I’m too warm. I can’t drink coffee. I don’t even want chocolate.

I painted the nails on the other hand.

My plants are still alive by the way. I’m not sure if I told you that I was worried about them, but they seem okay now. For now anyway. I most definitely don’t have green thumbs. My thumbs, they are not green. But my plants are still alive, so that’s good. They’re doing okay.

I just put my plants outside and one fell put of it’s pot. I can’t be bothered with it. It’s too hot and I don’t have a shallower pot which I would need for that little guy. It’s too hot. I’m talking about the weather again aren’t I? I will repot him. Don’t worry, I won’t leave him in that silly pot. I’m just busy at the moment, with everything, and I really don’t have very much energy for any of it.

Okay, I’ve been writing this post in dribs and drabs over the last few days and I realise that it’s very disjointed so I’m going to stop here. I hope it wasn’t too much of a chore to read, I just like writing the way I’m feeling. I’ve been very distracted lately, and that is how this post was written I suppose.

Have a lovely day,

Alys.

 

 

What do you think?

