Posted in Book Club, Book Reviews

Book Review: Across the Wall- Garth Nix

***

This book is the last one that I’ve read from Garth Nix. It isn’t entirely set in the Old Kingdom, as the cover might suggest, instead it is a collection of short stories. One of which is a short novella set in the world of Sabriel, Lirael, Clariel and the Abhorsens. If I’m honest with you, I didn’t particularly enjoy the Old Kingdom novella. It centred around Nick, and takes place in the world on the boring side of the Wall. I don’t know why I didn’t really get into it too much, I had thought at first that it was because the narrator was male, but then I remembered that parts of ‘Lirael’ are narrated by Sameth, so that can’t be it.

Anyway, although I didn’t particularly like the novella, that doesn’t mean that I don’t like the other stories in the book. Nix includes some stories from the start of his career and it’s lovely to see the development that has taken place in his writing style. It was interesting to read the explanations that Nix included before each story, about his process and reasons for his writing it.

There were a few stories based on Arthurian legends and whilst that is not something that I am usually interested in, I enjoyed them rather a lot. I really liked reading about Nix’s writing process and the way that he writes seems to be fairly similar to the way that I do, and that gives me hope for all the scrappy little bits of stories that are floating around my room!

Right, that’s your lot!

Don’t forget to let me know what you thought!

Have a lovely day,

Alys.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Across the Wall- Garth Nix

What do you think?

