Posted in Musings

Autumn Round-Up

Hello everyone! As you know, I’ve been at university this Autumn, and I’ve been very bust, thank goodness that I read so many books over the summer! I’ve actually been neglecting this blog rather a lot over the last few months, but you won’t have noticed because I’ve managed to schedule my weekly book reviews in advance! Here we are then, this is my Autumn round-up!

Books.

My top five books this Autumn were:

1. The Bone Season- Samantha Shannon

2. The Time Keeper- Mitch Albom

3. The Lies of Locke Lamora- Scott Lynch

4. The Dead-Tossed Waves- Carrie Ryan

5. Hitchers- Will McIntosh

TV.

In September I wrote about Defiance, a great science fiction show that reflects some big issues of our own society.

In October I wrote about Switched at Birth, a program in which two girls find out that they were switched at birth. The most interesting thing about this show is that one of the girls is deaf and I think it deals with deaf issues fantastically.

In November I wrote about The Lying Game, which is a show based on books by Sara Shepard. I haven’t read the books, but I enjoyed a show based off another series of her books, (Pretty Little Liars) so I gave it a try.

Rambling!

I wrote a lot about autumn this autumn. It being my favourite season and all. I wrote Orange and Red, all about Autumn and how the seasons change. I also wrote about Halloween and getting ill and writing notes. I also wrote about the confusion of having people with similar names around you, a difficulty with poetry, living and my little cousin growing up. I wrote a lot of rambly stuff this Autumn! I hope you enjoyed it and weren’t too put out by the sudden influx of thoughts coming your way!

Plans for Winter

I am going to be doing Festive Fridays again this year, it has already been planned! But I’m not sure if the books that I review over the month of December will be Christmassy this year because I just don’t have a lot of time to read at the moment. I haven’t scheduled any book reviews for December yet (although they are scheduled all the way through January and February, thank you summer reading) so we may be surprised with Christmassy book reviews, but I really don’t know at this point. I’m not making any promises!!

I think there will be a lot of things to write about this year because I’m having Christmas with my uni friends before we all go home for the real Christmas with our families. So you can look forward to cheap student decorations pictures and that will probably make you laugh. (All I’ll say is… cones…)
 
I hope you all had a really lovely Autumn and that you’re all looking forward to Winter!!
Have a lovely day,
Alys.
What do you think?

