Posted in Book Club, Book Reviews

Book Review: Good Omens- Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

download (6)

****

Two of my favourite writers. Allow me me a moment to fangirl a little about the fact that these two guys knew each other before they were famous. Nine years before I was born, two men met and a friendship was formed that may not have changed the world, but it certainly changed mine. Not the book, their friendship.

How Good Omens was Not Written- by littledogstar
How Good Omens was Not Written- by littledogstar

It was strange to read this book, already knowing their two distinct styles. I actually found that it was quite difficult to distinguish between the bits that Neil wrote and the bits that terry wrote. It seems like a TRUE collaboration. I love it. I don’t think that it’s as good as other books that I’ve read by both Neil and Terry. But it’s awesome to read something that has elements from the heads of both of them.

Good Omens is the story of the anti-Christ and the apocalypse. It’s also about prophecies, children, destiny and humanity. It’s a book that will make you laugh your socks off, think about the nature of humanity, the wisdom of children and everything else in the world. It’s simply great, and I can’t believe that I’ve gone this long without reading it.

Good Omens- by graphitedoll
Good Omens- by graphitedoll

A wonderful blend of the two authors, and if you like either of them (or both) then this is the book for you. Have a gander at my reviews of Coraline, (and my review of the film)  and Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, and Hogfather by Terry Pratchett.

Let me know what you thought of the book, and as ever, please do click on through to the artists pages by clicking on the pictures.

Have a lovely day,

Alys.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Good Omens- Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

What do you think?

