Posted in Book Club, Book Reviews

Book Review: The World Jones Made- Philip K. Dick

***

The World Jones Made is a story set in the future-past (a future set in 2002). In a world that has been torn by war a new political philosophy, relativism, tells us that we can all do whatever we want. We can’t tell other people what to think or feel. Which sounds great, right? But not when you can be imprisoned for doing so. Apparently there was a war before the novel starts and some people have been affected by radiation. One such person is Floyd Jones. He has the ability to see exactly one year into the future, which enables his rise to political power. Even so, he can only see one year into the future, which leads to his own downfall.

I think that I would have enjoyed this a lot more if I had been able to spend a little more time reading it and thinking about it. It has the potential to be completely chilling, the idea of the colonisation of other planets is not so far from what is happening in the world today, along with the idea of the genetic modification of humans. However, it doesn’t really grab my attention. It was far too easy to put down and leave. Now, I’ve read books by Philip K. Dick before and loved them, and as I said, this has all the potential to be a book that I love, but I think that it may take another go for me to really get my teeth into it. For such a small book there are a lot of characters, and they’re all so great that the book doesn’t seem to spend enough time with them. I’m especially intrigued by the characters of Jones and the Venusians. I think that the book would have been a lot more interesting if it was told from the point of view of Jones. Then again, that would be the cliché I suppose, and we all know how much I love clichés.

Anyway, if you’ve read it, what did you think?

And if you haven’t, does it sound like something that you would read?

Have a lovely day,

Alys.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The World Jones Made- Philip K. Dick

    1. No I haven’t, in all honesty the only one I’ve read is ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep’, which I loved. I have been meaning to read more though. I’ll have to put ‘Martian Time-slip’ on my list once I’ve got through all of the new books!
      Thanks for commenting!

What do you think?

